WPA Presents 2019 Scholarships

The Wisconsin Pork Association (WPA) recognized scholarship recipients during the organization’s annual meeting held on January 31 in conjunction with the Corn/Soy Expo in Wisc. Dells. Eight high school seniors and college students were awarded a total of $6900 in scholarships.

WPA Scholarship

This scholarship is presented each year to high school seniors pursuing further education with an interest in agriculture. In 2019, Andrew Boschert was selected to receive a $500 scholarship and Kevin Kitchen will receive a $400 scholarship. Boschert is from Beaver Dam and is the son William and Mary Pat Boschert. He plans to attend Iowa State University and major in animal science on the pre-vet track. Kitchen is from Augusta and is the son of Keith and Debbie Kitchen. He plans to attend UW-River Falls and major in Agriculture Business.

Whitmore Memorial Scholarship

The Whitmore Memorial Scholarship was established as a legacy to the late Rex Whitmore, a master statesman and communicator who served as the first executive director of the Wisconsin Pork Association. Applicants for this scholarship must be a junior or senior at UW-Madison, UW-Platteville or UW-River Falls. The 2019 recipient of the Whitmore Memorial Scholarship is Elizabeth Ries, Lomira. Elizabeth is a junior at UW-River Falls majoring in animal science and will transfer to UW-Madison next fall to work towards a veterinary degree with an emphasis in swine. She is the daughter of Al and Amy Ries.

Gunderson Memorial Scholarship

The Wisconsin Pork Association, in cooperation with the family of Buell Gunderson, established a scholarship program in 2007 to recognize the many contributions that Buell Gunderson made to the Wisconsin pork industry. Gunderson, together with his wife, Bernice, served as Secretary/Treasurer of the Wisconsin Pork Association for 20 plus years and assisted in growing the organization from its initial roots to the successful organization that it is today–sponsoring scholarships, developing youth programs and helping to support the pork producers of the state.

Individuals who have shown considerable dedication and involvement to the pork industry are eligible for this scholarship. Consideration is given to youth who have established their own production herd, been involved on their family operation, or shown specific interest in pork production or livestock judging.

Cailtyn Wileman, Janesville, and Taylor Daniels, Reedsburg were selected as recipients of the 2019 Gunderson Memorial Scholarship. Wileman will receive a $1000 scholarship and Daniels will receive a $750 scholarship. Wileman is attending Iowa State University and majoring in animal science. She is the daughter of Randy and Mary Wileman. Daniels is a senior at UW-Platteville majoring in animal science and agriculture business. She is the daughter of Ryan and Richelle Daniels.

Fredrich Memorial Scholarship

The Fredrich Memorial Scholarship was established in 2018 through funding from the Southeast Wisconsin Pork Producers. This scholarship honors Clarence Fredrich and is offered to students in Walworth, Racine, and Kenosha counties.

Ethan Heelein, Genoa City, and Cole Weinkauf, Waterfod, were both awarded $1000 scholarships. Andrea Edquist, Kenosha, received a $750 scholarship. Heelein is a freshman at UW-River Falls majoring in agriculture education. Weinkauf is a high school senior and plans to attend Iowa State University in the fall. Edquist is a junior at UW-Platteville majoring in agribusiness.