WPA Membership Elects Directors, Officers and Pork Act Delegates

Wisconsin Pork Association members gathered for the 2019 Annual Meeting on January 31 at the Kalahari Resort in Wisconsin Dells. President Jim Magolski provided a year-end review pork association activities. Bill Gnatzig reviewed the 2019 resolutions. Key resolutions included a motion to raise the Strategic Investment Rate as well as continued support for budget items at the state level. Discussion focused on quality groundwater as well as a safe food supply. A legislative update was provided by Jordan Lamb of DeWitt Law Firm. Todd Rodibaugh of National Pork Board provided information on checkoff activities, and Cody McKinley of National Pork Producers Council gave a presentation on trade and legislative efforts.

During the annual meeting, the following individuals were elected to serve a three year term on the WPA Board: Nathan Brickl, Sauk City; Ray Ibeling, Clinton; and Christina Meylor, Darlington.  Nathan Brickl, Ray Ibeling and Jonathan Wyttenbach were thanked for completing their previous term on the board.

Individuals representing Wisconsin at 2019 Pork Forum as NPB delegates include Ray Ibeling and Al Ries. Shannon Wolf will serve as 2019 NPPC delegate. Wisconsin delegates elected at the meeting for the 2020 Pork Forum include Brian Klubertanz and Nathan Brickl. Elected as alternates were Ray Ibeling and Mike Salter.

During the reorganization meeting, Jim Magolski was elected president followed by Mike Salter as vice-president, Tom Knauer as treasurer, and Brian Klubertanz, secretary.