Schroeder to be Inducted into Wisconsin State Fair Hall of Fame

Hilman Schroeder, Sauk City, Wisc., will be inducted into the Wisconsin State Fair Hall of Fame on Sunday, August 6, 2017, at approximately 12:00 p.m., in the Swine Barn at the Wisconsin State Fair, in West Allis.

Each year, Wisconsin Pork Association (WPA) recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a long time commitment to the Wisconsin State Fair in the open or junior shows, and to developing a quality breeding program, by inducting them into the Hall of Fame.

Hilman Schroeder’s career in the show ring began at age 13. His first experiences were with cattle, but he soon found a passion for swine, with particular interest in Yorkshire hogs. He started his own herd with two Yorkshire bred gilts and soon grew his herd with a goal to farrow over 300 litters each year.

Throughout the years, Hilman has earned recognition both in and out of the show ring. At age 18, he topped the National Barrow Show Carcass Contest. A few years later, he won every class of Yorkshires at the Wisconsin State Fair. For many years, he was well respected as a swine judge for state fairs throughout the Midwest. For his dedication and involvement in the swine industry, Hilman was named a Pork All-American in 1972 and received WPA’s Master Seedstock award in 1993, with many other state and national awards and recognitions in between.

Hilman was one of the first board members of the Wisconsin Pork Association and worked tirelessly to organize county groups in the state. He also helped create Wisconsin’s Pork Industry Fund, which continues to provide statewide support to swine research, producer education and programs for youth with an interest in Wisconsin’s pork industry.

At the national level, Hilman served as a board member of the National Pork Producers Council from 1972 to 1978 and later served on the Pork Act transition team when the National Pork Board was formed. Hilman was the first vice-president of the National Pork Board and later served as president for the organization. He also served several years on the board of directors for the American Yorkshire Club.

Hilman and his wife, Judy, reside on the farm in Sauk City.

Past recipients of this award are:

1992 – John Wollin, Lake Mills

1993 – James Walsh, Beloit

1994 – Lyle Nelson, Oregon

1995 – Don Lang, Beloit

1996 – Gerald McElroy, Pardeeville

1997 – Earl Skalitzky, Waterloo

1998 – Grenview Farms, Beloit

1999 – LaVern & Marilyn Weller, Dwight, Illinois

2000 – Schuster Brothers, Berlin

2001 – Ralph Wilson, Burlington

2002 – James Furlong, Jr., Watertown

2003 – William Schomberg, La Crosse

2004 – Mike & Donna Lindow, Chili

2005 – Wayne Fowler, Cuba City

2006 – George Holst, Trevor

2007 – Francis Fahey, Belleville

2008 – David Gill, Platteville

2009 – Gary Brewer, Albany

2010 – Paul George, Evansville

2011 – Alan Butts, Evansville

2012 – Erv Nuttleman, Bangor

2013 –Roger Guse, Whitehall

2014 – Dennis Jeffers, Poplar Grove, Illinois

2015 – Bill Clothier, Clinton

2016 – Charles Schmaling, Delavan

The Wisconsin Pork Association’s mission is to insure the future success of the Wisconsin pork industry. WPA represents the interests of the pork industry members with a strong emphasis on social issues, public and government policies, environment, animal welfare and safety.