Clothier to be Inducted into Hall of Fame

Bill Clothier, Clinton, will be inducted into the Wisconsin State Fair Hall of Fame on Friday, August 7, 2015 at 12:30 p.m. in the Swine Barn at the Wisconsin State Fair, in West Allis.

Each year, Wisconsin Pork Association recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a long time commitment to the Wisconsin State Fair in the open or junior shows, and to developing a quality breeding program, by inducting them into the Hall of Fame.

Bill grew up on his family’s farm in South Beloit, Illinois. He participated in 4-H and FFA throughout his youth, and upon graduating high school his interest in the hog industry continued to grow. Bill and his wife, Peggy, purchased their first farm in Clinton, WI and began raising and showing pigs. Bill purchased his first Durocs from Charles Schmaling and showed the breed until the late 1980’s. He then became interested in the Berkshire breed and for the last 28 years, Bill and his family have raised and shown “Berkshire gold” pigs.

Bill first began showing “Clothier Durocs” at the Wisconsin State Fair in 1973 and in 1979 he won his very first big award, Reserve Senior Champion Duroc Gilt. After showing Durcos for several years, he then began showing Clothier Farms Berkshire and Tamworth hogs. Bill and his family have earned numerous awards at the Wisconsin State Fair, including the 1998, 1999, and 2000 Grand Champion Berkshire boar, 2010 Supreme Champion boar, 2011 Grand Champion Tamworth boar, and the 2014 Grand Champion Tamworth boar and gilt.

Showing pigs and fair time has always been a special tradition for the Clothier family. Bill’s parents, Bob and Gerry, along with his sister, Cathy, were very fond of attending hog shows. Together, Bill and his son Jon operate Clothier Genetics and the family tradition of raising and showing Berkshire and Tamworth pigs continues to be enjoyed by the younger generations. Bill and his wife Peggy reside in Clinton and have seven children.

Past recipients of this award are:

1992 – John Wollin, Lake Mills

1993 – James Walsh, Beloit

1994 – Lyle Nelson, Oregon

1995 – Don Lang, Beloit

1996 – Gerald McElroy, Pardeeville

1997 – Earl Skalitzky, Waterloo

1998 – Grenview Farms, Beloit

1999 – LaVern & Marilyn Weller, Dwight, Illinois

2000 – Schuster Brothers, Berlin

2001 – Ralph Wilson, Burlington

2002 – James Furlong, Jr., Watertown

2003 – William Schomberg, La Crosse

2004 – Mike & Donna Lindow, Chili

2005 – Wayne Fowler, Cuba City

2006 – George Holst, Trevor

2007 – Francis Fahey, Belleville

2008 – David Gill, Platteville

2009 – Gary Brewer, Albany

2010 – Paul George, Evansville

2011 – Alan Butts, Evansville

2012 – Erv Nuttleman, Bangor

2013 –Roger Guse, Whitehall

2014 – Dennis Jeffers, Poplar Grove, Illinois