WPA Recognizes Scholarship Recipients

The Wisconsin Pork Association (WPA) would like to recognize the 2021 scholarship recipients.  Eight high school seniors and college students were awarded a total of $6,900 in scholarships.

WPA Scholarship

This scholarship is presented each year to high school seniors pursuing further education with an interest in agriculture. This year, Abigail Helbach has been selected to receive a $500 and Victorria Meylor will receive a $400 scholarship.  Abigail Helbach is a senior at Amherst High School. She plans on studying Animal Science and Agricultural Communications at Oklahoma State University. Victorria Meylor is a senior at Darlington High School. She plans to study Animal Science at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville.  Pictured (left to right): Abigail Helbach and Victorria Meylor.

Whitmore Memorial Scholarship

The Whitmore Memorial Scholarship was established as a legacy to the late Rex Whitmore, a master statesman and communicator who served as the first executive director of the Wisconsin Pork Association. Applicants for this scholarship must be a junior or senior at University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Wisconsin -Platteville or University of Wisconsin -River Falls. Sarah Albers is the recipient of the $1,500 scholarship. Sarah is from Prairie du Sac and a junior studying Animal Science with a Meat Animal Emphasis at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. Next Fall, she will be studying Veterinary Medicine at the University of Wisconsin – Madison where she will focus on food animal medicine.


Gunderson Memorial Scholarship

The Wisconsin Pork Association, in cooperation with the family of Buell Gunderson, established a scholarship program in 2007 to recognize the many contributions that Buell Gunderson made to the Wisconsin pork industry. Gunderson, together with his wife, Bernice, served as Secretary/Treasurer of the Wisconsin Pork Association for 20 plus years and assisted in growing the organization from its initial roots to the successful organization that it is today–sponsoring scholarships, developing youth programs and helping to support the pork producers of the state.

This year, Morgan Fitzsimmons has been selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship and Carson Lobdell will receive a $750 scholarship. Morgan Fitzsimmons, Mineral Point, is a senior attending Iowa State University and majoring in Agriculture Communications with a minor in Animal Science. Carson Lobdell, Darlington, is a freshman attending Lincoln Land Community College in Springfield, IL. where he is majoring in Agriculture Business. Pictured (left to right): Morgan Fitzsimmons and Carson Lobdell.

Fredrich Memorial Scholarship

The Fredrich Memorial Scholarship was established in 2018 through funding from the Southeast Wisconsin Pork Producers. This scholarship honors Clarence Fredrich and is offered to students in Walworth, Racine, and Kenosha counties.

This year’s recipients are Kelsey Henderson, Melissa Konkel, and Jack DeWees. Kelsey Henderson, Kenosha, will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Kelsey is a freshman at Iowa State University majoring in Agriculture Business. Melissa Konkel will also receive a $1,000 scholarship. Melissa, Elkhorn, is a freshman at the University of Wisconsin – Madison majoring in Dairy Science with a plan to double major in Animal Science. Jack DeWees, Franksville, will receive a $750 scholarship. Jack is currently a senior at Union Grove High School. After graduation, he plans to attend the University of Wisconsin – Platteville where he will major in Agriculture Education and minor in Zoology. Pictured (left to right): Jack DeWees, Kelsey Henderson, and Melissa Konkel.