Charles Schmaling to be Inducted Posthumously into State Fair Hall of Fame

Charles Schmaling will be inducted posthumously into the Wisconsin State Fair Hall of Fame on Saturday, August 6, 2016 prior to the open Duroc show, approximately 9:00 a.m., in the Swine Barn at the Wisconsin State Fair, in West Allis.

Each year, Wisconsin Pork Association recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a long time commitment to the Wisconsin State Fair in the open or junior shows, and to developing a quality breeding program, by inducting them into the Hall of Fame.

Charles Schmaling was a dedicated supporter of the Wisconsin State Fair for decades, having only missed two Wisconsin State Fair shows in his showing career. His devotion to raising quality purebred Durocs earned him the record for fastest days to 250 pounds, grand champion sow at the 1980 Wisconsin State Fair, national bred sow champion in Louisville in 1989, nine consecutive years with the supreme champion female, and numerous other awards.

In addition to his passion for swine shows and breeding quality hogs, Charlie was dedicated to promoting the swine industry at the local and state level. He served as secretary of the Duroc Association for many years and was chairman of the Duroc Congress in 1982. He is also recognized for having supported his peers in the swine industry and the time he spent helping both his children and other youth succeed in the industry.

Although Charlie has passed away, his legacy lives on through his family. Today, Charlie’s children and grandchildren continue to raise purebred hogs and have carried on the tradition of supporting the swine industry and the Wisconsin State Fair.

Past recipients of this award are:

1992 – John Wollin, Lake Mills

1993 – James Walsh, Beloit

1994 – Lyle Nelson, Oregon

1995 – Don Lang, Beloit

1996 – Gerald McElroy, Pardeeville

1997 – Earl Skalitzky, Waterloo

1998 – Grenview Farms, Beloit

1999 – LaVern & Marilyn Weller, Dwight, Illinois

2000 – Schuster Brothers, Berlin

2001 – Ralph Wilson, Burlington

2002 – James Furlong, Jr., Watertown

2003 – William Schomberg, La Crosse

2004 – Mike & Donna Lindow, Chili

2005 – Wayne Fowler, Cuba City

2006 – George Holst, Trevor

2007 – Francis Fahey, Belleville

2008 – David Gill, Platteville

2009 – Gary Brewer, Albany

2010 – Paul George, Evansville

2011 – Alan Butts, Evansville

2012 – Erv Nuttleman, Bangor

2013 –Roger Guse, Whitehall

2014 – Dennis Jeffers, Poplar Grove, Illinois

2015 – Bill Clothier, Clinton

The Wisconsin Pork Association’s mission is to insure the future success of the Wisconsin pork industry. WPA represents the interests of the pork industry members with a strong emphasis on social issues, public and government policies, environment, animal welfare and safety.