

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 5<sup>th</sup>, 2024

## Mike "Mickey" Gilster Inducted into the 2024 WPA Hall of Fame

WEST ALLIS, WI- The Wisconsin Pork Association Hall of Fame Award recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a long-time commitment to the Wisconsin State Fair in the open and junior shows, and who has developed a quality swine breeding program.

This year's Hall of Fame inductee was Mike "Mickey" Gilster of Bangor, WI. Mike is a long-time exhibitor and supporter at the Wisconsin State Fair. Mike started his herd with a Duroc sow when he was 9 years old, began showing at the Wisconsin state fair when he was 13, and has now developed a very successful Chester White breeding program that has earned many accolades and recognition across the country. He sells boars, bred gilts, open gilts, and high-quality show pigs to families and kids across the Midwest. Mike's passion and commitment to helping young people get involved in pork production is evident to all who know him.

Mike's industry involvement extends past the barn where he has been the La Crosse County Fair Superintendent for 27 years, the Livestock Sale Committee Chairman for 15 years, and the La Crosse County Pork Producers President for 20 years. He still enjoys helping at the state and national shows and supporting the industry in any way he can. He would like to thank everyone that has supported him throughout the years, especially his family: Paul, Barb, Jim, Dan, Norm, Chelsea, Hazel, Robert, and Vonnie Gilster.

Mike was recognized at the Wisconsin State Fair Swine Barn on Sunday, August 4<sup>th</sup>, 2024, along with past Hall of Fame inductees. We would like to congratulate Mike on this prestigious award, wish him and his family the best of luck in the future, and thank him for his contributions to the Wisconsin swine industry!

## Past Hall of Fame Recipients:

1992 - John Wollin, Lake Mills 1993 - James Walsh, Beloit

	inics waising Beloit
1994 - Ly	rle Nelson, Oregon
1995 - D	on Lang, Beloit
1996 - G	erald McElroy, Pardeeville
1997 - Ea	arl Skalitzky, Waterloo
1998 – B	ob Grenawalt, Beloit
1999 - La	aVern & Marilyn Weller, Dwight, IL
2000 - Sc	chuster Brothers, Berlin
2001 - Ra	alph Wilson, Burlington
2002 - Ja	mes Furlong, Jr., Watertown
2003 - W	/illiam Schomberg, La Crosse
2004 - N	like & Donna Lindow, Chili
2005 - W	/ayne Fowler, Cuba City
2006 – G	eorge Holst, Trevor
2007 – F	rancis Fahey, Belleville

2008 - David Gill, Platteville
2009 - Gary Brewer, Albany
2010 – Paul George, Evansville
2011 – Alan Butts, Evansville
2012 – Erv Nuttleman, Bangor
2013 – Roger Guse, Whitehall

2014 – Dennis Jeffers, Poplar Grove, IL

2015 - Bill Clothier, Clinton

2016 – Charles Schmaling Family, Delavan 2017 – Hilman Schroeder, Sauk City

Contact: Morgan Worek

mworek@wppa.org or 608-723-7551

2018 - Thomas Knauer, Avalon

2019 – Gary & Diann Skalitzky, Waterloo

2020 – WSF Cancelled 2021 - Todd Brewer, Albany

2022 – Robert "R.J." Ellingson, Poplar Grove, IL

2023- Tom Walsh, Beloit

For additional information, contact the Wisconsin Pork Association at <a href="wppa@wppa.org">wppa@wppa.org</a> or call 608-723-7551.

-More-

The mission of the Wisconsin Pork Association is to promote and protect the state's pork industry in order to ensure its success now and in the future.

